Looking for Wise Council...

Talk about Petra albums, songs, and concerts.
wildmanpetra
Pethead
Pethead
#1 Album: WUC
Pethead since: 1985

Looking for Wise Council...

Post by wildmanpetra » Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:32 pm

So, lately I have been wondering about many things. Things always change etc. While in High Sschool and up until recently I had only listened to and supported christian music. If the lyrics weren’t clearly Christian I would not support. Lately, as a musician I have been moved my stories that are behind the secular songs that were written. Many of the songs I used to boycott were merely a young artist simply expressing themselves, and what they were facing at the time. Most of the time searching... (Michael Sweets Book Honeslty really helped me understand what musicians go through. I admit I was very legalistic, now that things are slowly changing for me, I feel like I would be betraying Petra and all the other Christian bands that had an influence on me, if now I turn around and listen to secular as well. Anyone else faced with this dilemma? Any words of advice? I only want to have a life pleasing to Him...If in fact all can be in a Christains music library, is there a line to be drawn?
0 x

brent
Extreme Pethead Fanatic
Extreme Pethead Fanatic

Re: Looking for Wise Council...

Post by brent » Mon Jul 23, 2018 7:11 pm

Here is my .02:

1. We are more than Christianese speech. We are not limited to it. We can biblically converse about all things relative to our experiences on this planet.
2. The fact we have portions of our church services and music industry called praise or worship is laughable. Everything we do should be doing this. Praising, worshiping and pleasing God go beyond religious activities. Even the lost praise God. Rocks praise God. In the bible, we have God saying he is pleased with creation doing what creation does. Man pleases and praises God simply by breathing, working, having a family, raising children, etc.