zak89
Pethead
Pethead
#1 Album: Petra Praise 2
Pethead since: 2002

John Cooper on Apostasy

Post by zak89 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 1:05 pm

Hey, I’m still alive! 8)

I saw the recent “John Cooper” thread on the Petra forum so I assume many folks may have already seen this link, but just in case... the Skillet frontman has some choice words regarding the recent spat of popular Christian “influencers” (his term) who’ve announced their departure from the faith.

A few excerpts (the entire post is well worth reading):
“We must STOP making worship leaders and thought leaders or influencers or cool people or “relevant” people the most influential people in Christendom. (And yes that includes people like me!) I’ve been saying for 20 years(and seemed probably quite judgmental to some of my peers) that we are in a dangerous place when the church is looking to 20 year old worship singers as our source of truth. We now have a church culture that learns who God is from singing modern praise songs rather than from the teachings of the Word.

...there is a common thread running through these leaders/influencers that basically says that “no one else is talking about the REAL stuff.” This is just flatly false. I just read today in a renown worship leader’s statement, “How could a God of love send people to hell? No one talks about it.” As if he is the first person to ask this? Brother, you are not that unique. The church has wrestled with this for 1500 years. Literally. Everybody talks about it. Children talk about it in Sunday school. There’s like a billion books written on the topic. Just because you don’t get the answer you want doesn’t mean that we are unwilling to wrestle with it. We wrestle with scripture until we are transformed by the renewing of our minds.